Press Releases

Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce Annual Celebration-a Night to Remember!

January 16, 2009

(Greer, SC) The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce celebrated its 71st year of service along with 440 attendees at its Annual Meeting and Celebration held on January 15th at the Embassy Suites Hotel. The event was presented by Greer Memorial Hospital.  The theme for the evening was “Back to the Future” and the Chamber recognized its history by profiling long time businesses in the community.  Amanda Somers, 2008 Chairman of the Board announced the Chamber’s Annual Report and passed the gavel to in-coming Chairman Vic Grout, who discussed the future plans of the Chamber and business community.

Greenville community leader, Merl Code was the guest speaker. 

Sponsors for the event included:
Presenting Sponsor
Greer Memorial Hospital

Platinum Sponsors
Bon Secours St. Francis Health System
BMW Manufacturing Co.
Greer Commission of Public Works
Village Hospital

Silver Sponsors
Duke Energy
Michelin North America, Inc.

Table Sponsors
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Carolina First
Citizens Building & Loan
City of Greer
Cunningham-Waters Construction
Founders Federal Credit Union
Greer State Bank
The Greenville News
Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A.
Martin & Davis, LLC/Palmetto Bank
Mitsubishi Polyester Film
Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart, PC
Prudential C. Dan Joyner Company Realtors
Spartanburg Community College
SSI-Sports Spine & Industrial
Young Office/GOS

John Kimbrell, President/CEO of the Chamber stated, “This celebration is always the highlight of our year.  It gives the Chamber the opportunity to thank all of our leadership and members for all they do for the business community.  The Chamber remains focused on being a strong voice for business and I thank Amanda Somers and her leadership team for a great 2008 and welcome Vic Grout as the new chairman of the board.”

The Chamber presented several awards:
Ambassador of the Year:  Sponsored by ERA Riverside
An Ambassador of the Year is presented to a Chamber Ambassador who has accumulated the most Ambassador Points for the year.  Chamber Ambassadors represent the Chamber at ribbon cuttings, business expansions, grand openings, and ground breakings as well as host new member orientations and call on Chamber members on behalf of the Board of Directors.  They serve as the public relations arm for the activities and programs of the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce and assist in retaining and engaging the membership.

Brian Thomas (Aegis Financial) is the 2008 Ambassador of the Year.

Executive Sales Team Member of the Year: Sponsored by ERA Riverside
The Executive Sales Team Member of the Year is presented to the individual who has recruited the most new member accounts over the past year. The Executive Sales Team is a new member recruiting initiative that assists the Chamber in developing prospects for the Chamber, recruiting new Chamber members, and expanding the presence of the Chamber in outlying communities.

Wanda Moore is the 2008 Executive Sales Team Member of the Year.

Margaret Burch Education Award:
  Sponsored by GreerNow Magazine
The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce each year recognizes individuals or businesses that have significantly impacted the field of education, either through innovative programs, unselfish dedication to children, or through other avenues that foster the learning experience.

CenterQuest is the 2008 Margaret Burch Education Award recipient. Pat Edwards, President of the Board and Joan White, Lead Teacher accepted the award.

“Sud” Paget—Volunteer of the Year Award: Sponsored by CountyBanc Insurance
One of the most meaningful awards the Chamber bestows each year is the one given to the person who contributes an extraordinary amount of time and expertise for the purpose of helping the Chamber and our community grow and prosper. This special award is named in honor of a man who exemplified the ideals of volunteer spirit – Mr. J. S. “Sud” Paget, the founder of our organization and our first volunteer Chairman of the Board for the newly formed Greer Chamber of Commerce in 1937.

Kim Niskey (ConnectsU) is the winner of the 2008 “Sud” Paget Volunteer of the Year Award

Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award: Sponsored by Duke Energy
This is a tribute to individuals or groups who make a difference in their communities or places of work by using their time, talents and compassion to positively impact the lives of others. Recipients of the award help foster a culture of citizenship and service that acts as a catalyst for others to become involved in civic and social activities.

Andrew Culbreath (Love, Thornton, Arnold, & Thomason) is the winner of the Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award. 

Chairman’s Award for Excellence: Sponsored by SYS Constructors
The Chairman’s Award is given when the Chairman of the Board feels that a company, organization or individual’s contributions to the Chamber and community have been exemplery.  The award recipients are those whom the Chairman believes have particularly assisted him or her during his or her tenure.

Vic Grout (Greer State Bank) is the winner of the 2008 Chairman’s Award for Excellence.
The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce is a voluntary, non-profit organization that represents approximately 580 businesses in the Greer area. The mission of the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce is “To Champion Economic Prosperity for our members and the greater Greer community.”  For more information on the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce, call 864-877-3131 or visit

<< Back