Press Releases

Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce Pleased to Announce Award Winners from 73rd Annual Celebration

January 21, 2011

The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce celebrated its 73rd year of service along with 350 attendees at its Annual Meeting and Celebration held on January 20th at the Embassy Suites Hotel. The event was presented by Greer Memorial Hospital. The theme for the evening was a “Success Story” and the Chamber shared its many successes and highlights from the previous year.  Brian Martin, 2010 Chairman of the Board passed the gavel to in-coming Chairman Donna O. Smith, who discussed the future plans of the Chamber and business community.

Robert Hitt, former Department Manager of Public Affairs at BMW Manufacturing Co. and newly appointed Secretary of Commerce gave the keynote address and Nigel Robertson with WYFF served as the evening’s emcee.

Sponsors for the event included:

Presenting Sponsor
Greer Memorial Hospital

Platinum Sponsors
BMW Manufacturing Co.
Greer Commission of Public Works
Village Hospital

Silver Sponsor
Duke Energy
Michelin North America

Table Sponsors
Bon Secours St. Francis Health System
Citizens Building & Loan Association
City of Greer
Greer State Bank
Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport
Greenville Technical College
Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A.
Martin & Davis, LLC/ The Palmetto Bank
Mitsubishi Polyester Film LLC
Mountain View Clinical Research Inc.
Prudential C. Dan Joyner

The Chamber presented three important awards:

“Sud” Paget—Volunteer of the Year Award: Sponsored by CountyBanc Insurance, Inc.
One of the most meaningful awards the Chamber bestows each year is the one given to the person who contributes an extraordinary amount of time and expertise for the purpose of helping the Chamber and our community grow and prosper. This special award is named in honor of a man who exemplified the ideals of volunteer spirit – Mr. J. S. “Sud” Paget, the founder of our organization and our first volunteer Chairman of the Board for the newly formed Greer Chamber of Commerce in 1937.

Mikelle Porter (Greenville Technical College – Greer Campus) is the winner of the 2010 “Sud” Paget Volunteer of the Year Award.

Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award: Sponsored by Duke Energy
This is a tribute to individuals or groups who make a difference in their communities or places of work by using their time, talents and compassion to positively impact the lives of others. Recipients of the award help foster a culture of citizenship and service that acts as a catalyst for others to become involved in civic and social activities.

Laurens (Larry) I. James (James Agency, Inc.) is the winner of the Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award. 

Chairman’s Award for Excellence: Sponsored by Prudential C. Dan Joyner
The Chairman’s Award is given when the Chairman of the Board feels that a company, organization or individual’s contributions to the Chamber and community have been exemplary. The award recipients are those whom the Chairman believes have particularly assisted him or her during his or her tenure.

Larry E. Wilson (L.E. Wilson & Associates LLC) and J. Philip Feisal (Village Hospital) are the winners of the 2010 Chairman’s Award for Excellence.

For pictures from the event, check out to view and purchase pictures from the evening.

The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce is a voluntary, non-profit organization that represents approximately 600 businesses in the Greer area. The mission of the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce is “To Champion Economic Prosperity for our members and the greater Greer community.”  For more information on the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce, call 864-877-3131 or visit

<< Back