Press Releases

Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce

January 18, 2008

(Greer, SC) The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce celebrated its 70th Anniversary at its Annual Meeting and Celebration held on January 17th at the Embassy Suites Hotel. 


Key note speaker was Senator Lindsey Graham.  The out-going Chairman of the Board, Phil Feisal (Bon Secours St, Francis Health System), passed the gavel to in-coming Chairman, Amanda Somers (SSI Physical Therapy and Performance Center).


The Chamber presented several awards:


Ambassador of the Year:  Sponsored by ERA Riverside

An “ambassador” of the chamber serves as the public relations arm for the activities and programs of the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce and assist in retaining and engaging the membership.

 Marvin Robinson (Greer State Bank) is the 2007 Ambassador of the Year.


 Executive Sales Team Member of the Year: Sponsored by ERA Riverside
The Executive Sales Team Member of the Year is presented to the individual who has recruited the most new member accounts over the past year. The Executive Sales Team is a new member recruiting initiative that assists the Chamber in developing prospects for the Chamber,
recruiting new Chamber members, and expanding the presence of the Chamber in outlying

 Ann Yax (Oakleaf Village) is the 2007 Executive Sales Team Member of the Year.


Margaret Burch Education Award:  Sponsored by GreerNow Magazine
The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce each year recognizes individuals or businesses that have significantly impacted the field of education, either through innovative programs, unselfish dedication to children, or through other avenues that foster the learning experience.

 “Partnership for Tomorrow” is the winner of the 2007 Margaret Burch Education Award
Accepting for the Partnership for Tomorrow was Larry Wilson (State Auto Insurance) and Margaret Burch.

 “Sud” Paget—Volunteer of the Year Award: Sponsored by CountyBanc Insurance
One of the most meaningful awards the Chamber bestows each year is the one given to the person who contributes an extraordinary amount of time and expertise for the purpose of helping the Chamber and our community grow and prosper. This special award is named in honor of a man who exemplified the ideals of volunteer spirit – Mr. J. S. “Sud” Paget, the founder of our organization and our first volunteer Chairman of the Board for the newly formed Greer Chamber of Commerce in 1937.
Ann Yax (Oakleaf Village) is the winner of the 2007 “Sud” Paget Volunteer of the Year Award


 Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award: Sponsored by Duke Energy
This is a tribute to individuals or groups who make a difference in their communities or places of work by using their time, talents and compassion to positively impact the lives of others. Recipients of the award help foster a culture of citizenship and service that acts as a catalyst for others to become involved in civic and social activities.
Dennis Hennett (Greer State Bank) is the winner of the Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award.  The award was presented by Randy Britton, Business Relations Manager with Duke Energy.


 Chairman’s Award for Excellence: Sponsored by SYS Constructors

 Larry McGriff (Green Earth) is the winner of the 2007 Chairman’s Award for Excellence.
Larry McGriff chaired the Steering Cmmittee for the accrediation process in 2007.  The Greer Chamber is now 5 Star Accredited with the US Chamber of Commerce.


The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce is a voluntary, non-profit organization that represents approximately 580 businesses in the Greer area. The mission of the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce is “To Champion Economic Prosperity for our members and the greater Greer community.”  For more information on the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce, call 864-877-3131 or visit

<< Back